Le compte à rebours est lancé

J’ai une nouvelle à vous apprendre!  I’m packing up and moving to my faux-pays natal in exactly one month!  It’s been a long year and a half since I left France, and frankly, a very extended trip back is long overdue.  I was accepted to the Teaching Assistant Program in France (referred to here on out as TAPIF) for the 2012-2013 school year in the Académie of Bordeaux, which is made up of the five departments of Aquitaine.  But I won’t be in the region’s capital city; instead, I will be heading into the Dordogne, one of France’s more rural and remote departments, to teach English in an equally rural and remote high school.  I have little idea of what to expect, having not taken more than a couple of dozen steps in the region, only to catch a connecting train in Bordeaux to Toulouse on my way to Albi.  Not to mention…I’ve never taught a class, rented an apartment in a foreign country, lived in the countryside, driven a manual transmission car…and the list is longer still, but I’m so looking forward to all of these new experiences – even moreso the ones that I can’t anticipate!  It’ll be a long and busy month, but come September 18, I’ll drop everything, board a flight to Paris and see where the next eight months take me!

A la Dordogne, mes enfants!

7 thoughts on “Le compte à rebours est lancé

  1. Félicitations! It sounds like that will be a great experience and fun to read about. I’m thinking that if the rural town in Dordogne is like other small towns, everybody’s going to know everybody.

    • Thanks so much! I’m hoping that my twelve-hour work week will leave me plenty of time to write about my experiences in the classroom and in the Dordogne!

Leave a Reply

