Xīn nián kuài lè!

Happy Lunar New Year!  I was able to participate in Seattle’s celebration this past Saturday, and it was as much fun as the last time I went, two years ago.  Back then my Chinese was a whole lot better, but the more I eavesdropped on people around me, the more I realized I still understand a lot!  Characters on the other hand…汉字太难了!我不记得很多的汉字。哎呀!Ai ya!

This time, when I arrived in the International District, the parade was headed right my way!  龙跳舞跳得很漂亮!After their little show they danced back up the street to the main stage where several acts were scheduled to perform…in fact, the same ones I’d seen two years ago!

There was a great turnout and relatively clear skies, so sometimes it was difficult to see the stage over the heads of brightly dressed toddlers sat upon their parents’ shoulders (“my neck hurts!” they cried).  But I managed to sneak my way through to the front by the time Kaze Daiko, a Seattle-based taiko group, was set to perform.  I really love seeing taiko drums played live.  It’s so theatrical and the sound is so powerful.  Most of the performers I recognized from two years ago, and it’s wonderful to see that they’ve kept up this hobby!

Leave a Reply

