Week-end à Carnac

Well, I never got around to talking about my weekend trip to Carnac back in…November, but as I’m heading back there tomorrow for the Easter holiday, I thought I’d introduce you to this pretty little town on le Golfe du Morbihan in Bretagne.  A good friend from UW and I were graciously invited to stay with Anne-Marie and André in their summer home, close to the beach but far from the main roads.

Breakfasts were simple – confitures with fresh brioche from the boulangerie in la Trinité-sur-Mer, juice and big mugs of tea.

We spent the early part of the morning exploring Plage Men Dû, where Poupou ran free and we ran to catch her.

We picked up lunch at the fish market in la Trinité-sur-Mer for a veritable feast of langoustines and crab (!!!).

Unfortunately, come dinnertime I ate a few raw oysters that did not agree with my stomach (why I decided to give oysters another go, I don’t know!).  I woke up early the following morning feeling perhaps as awful as I have ever felt, but took some medicine, made it back to Nantes in one piece and slept through my Monday classes.  But despite this little hiccup (ha!), I would still have to say that I enjoyed the trip, though I think it goes without saying that when I visit this weekend, I’ll pass on les huîtres!

2 thoughts on “Week-end à Carnac

  1. Beautiful pictures and great adventure. I love pictures of your puppy dog. He’s (?) cute! And wow, what a feast. Sorry you felt bad after eating the oysters though. I hate when I eat something bad and just ruins the whole day. 😦 Have a great weekend-

Leave a Reply

