The Alhambra, pt.1

Now, I was excited about going to Granada, but I was really, really looking forward to going to the Alhambra.  I mean, I’d heard Rick Steves rave about it plenty of times (“Nowhere else does the splendor of Moorish civilization shine so brightly,” he gushes, dubbing it an “Oasis of Elegence”), so, naturally, it was at the top of my list.

We had tried to walk to the Alhambra a day earlier, but we somehow went the wrong way, taking a muddy path that teased us with turns more or less in the correct direction, though ultimately leading us to a dead end with the Alhambra out of our sight.

But the next day, we took the bright pink, clearly marked path to the top of the hill.  As we were visiting in the winter, lines were short and we made it in quickly, which meant more time to explore the grounds.

Truly, one of the most beautiful places I’ve been able to visit.  And there are some more photos to come!

48 thoughts on “The Alhambra, pt.1

  1. You photographed much of the same details that I did on a trip two years ago! I was teased for my close-ups of the tile work. On the day my friend and I traveled to Granada, there was a city festival and parade taking place; an unexpected treat in addition to our Alhambra visit! One of our favorite cities in Spain…

  2. If you go into the interior of Mexico one sees similar patterns of the tile, especially created by the Carrillo Family, still making tile. Interesting and beautiful.

  3. Wow, these photos came out great! The architecture looks spectacular. I’m a big traveler, but I never really thought about going to Grenada before. If I do, I’ll definitely have to check out Alhambra. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Wow… your photos are absolutely stunning Sarah!! They could easily be included in a Lonely Planet guide. I’ve been spending a year abroad in the university city of Salamanca (about 3 hours from Madrid), but I still haven’t travelled down south! Granada, Sevilla and Córdoba are at the top of my wishlist (as is Cádiz) and fingers crossed I will finally be making the journey at the end of March.

    As they say in Spain, “¡Guay, super guay!”

  5. One of my favorite places I’ve ever visited. I also loved hiking up past the gypsy caves too. It’s fascinating and you get great views of the valley and The Alhambra. It was a while ago so I’m not sure how it has changed. Have you done that yet?

  6. That’s amazing, I would love to visit Granada. I’ve seen a few doco’s on alhambra and a few of my friends have visited and have said its just amazing.

  7. Alhamra is the actual pronounciation. It means red in Arabic. It is a testify to the world about the Glory of Islam and its service to mankind or to the world.

  8. Truly amazing place! Thank you so much for sharing such wonderful pictures of Alhambra. I’ve seen it on TV once and wanted to visit. Now you gave me more reasons to do so. Travelling and photography are my passion and I get to do both on the trip there. 🙂

  9. Hey there. Gorgeous photos! I remember going to Cordoba a long time ago, truly an unforgettable experience, seeing the Mezquita among other things. Can’t wait for your next batch of pics.

  10. I too, have been there. It is my favourite place in all of Spain. I went there in July and the rose garden around the outdoor pool was in full bloom, and it was so beautiful I almost started to cry. Thanks for sharing these memories!

  11. Really amazing photos. Old buildings like this are a gem – they have so much character and warmth. Beats the cold and soul-less condos of the big city any day.

  12. Thanks for posting this! The colors, the textures, the scale… Wow! doesn’t do it justice but I’m at a loss for words. Can’t stop scrolling through your pics.

  13. Well written Write-up. Glad i am able yo locate a site with some knowledge plus a great writing style.
    You keep publishing and i will continue to Keep browsing

    Thanks Again

Leave a Reply

