Granada

Another train ride, a bit longer than the one to Córdoba, and we were at stop number three: Granada!  Which means “pomegranate!”  I had some pretty big expectations, and here are a few of my first impressions of the city:

Pan tostado con tomate: what I ate for breakfast each day, and not only in Granada!  Best with some Spanish olive oil drizzled on top, ñam ñam!

La Santa Iglesia Catedral Metropolitana de la Encarnación de Granada…phew!  Like all of the cathedrals I’ve visited in Spain so far, this one too, was beautifully decorated – so intricate and detailed.  For generations and generations, families worked to complete these masterpieces.  What a life!

At Carmen de los Mártires, near the Alhambra, we found maybe twelve or fifteen peacocks (pavos reales!) sitting together atop a balcony.  I’d noticed them from a bench in what I can only describe as an overreaction.  “Oh my gosh!  There’s a peacock!  Wait, there’s another one!  Wait, there’s like a million of them!”  Then I tried to get as close to them as I could before retreating in fear of their beaks and their massive talons…I did this several times, and know how silly it must have looked.

We found some friendly ducks at the park, too.  I believe in Spanish, the word for duck is “duckiño,” right?  Cuac, cuac!  These two were really cute and followed us around the pond.

And here are two pictures of a Flamenco dress store.  After seeing a wonderful performance at the Museo del Baile Flamenco in Sevilla, I definitely found that I have a soft spot for all the ruffles and polka dots.

I should have bought one.

Leave a Reply

