Marshes

Lately my mom and I have been spending our afternoons exploring different regional parks.  It’s been great to spend some time with her in some really beautiful places.  The weather this summer has been mild and just perfect for wandering around and looking for birds, except for the windy day we visited Hayward Shoreline Interpretive Center and my mom dropped a paper that I had to chase for half a mile…well, that was actually quite fun, too.  But before that, we went to Don Edwards San Francisco Bay National Wildlife Refuge.  Lots of marshland!

I may or may not have taken the above picture because “mug” sounds like “muggle” and “wort” sounds like “Hogwarts,” because I may or may not be “one of those twenty year olds” that would still really love to go to wizarding school and hang out with Harry Potter.  Oh boy…

Hayward Shoreline Interpretive Center is a place that I hadn’t visited since I was ten months old (my mom had the photo to prove it!).  When I wasn’t chasing papers down the road, my mom and I looked through binoculars at lots of different birds, which was surprisingly a lot more fun than I remember it as a child (and no 5am wake-up call this time!).  I’m lucky to live near such beautiful places.

Pickleweed!

Leave a Reply

