Disneyland

Now I know I sound like a rotten pessimist most of the time, but really, that unpleasantness is merely the hard candy shell over a nice, chocolatey center (though the fact that I have chosen to compare myself to a sugary sweet should be evidence enough that I have a soft side…and not only the kind that melts in your mouth but not in your hand).  So when the opportunity to take a trip to Disneyland presents itself to me, I am always delighted to go along for the ride!

I spent a wonderful two days in the park with my parents, scaling the Matterhorn, soaring over California and eating vegetarian gumbo in New Orleans Square.  And I had my first pineapple spear!  Maybe this seems like minutia, but after nearly twenty years of saying “ick” that weird spiny thing, I’ve fallen completely in love with pineapple.  So, having passed by the pineapple stand in Adventureland  many times before, I could not resist getting my own slice (really, I couldn’t…my veins must pump pure pineapple juice).  If only they sold a whole pineapple.  On a stick.  Or maybe a skewer.  Of whole pineapples!!

Oh, everything in Disneyland is so cute!  No detail, no matter how small, is ignored, and it’s kind of incredible.  I never would have known that my life was missing so important an element as a Mickey Mouse apron!  Well, it still is, but that’s entirely beside the point.

Though we eventually had to say to the happiest place on earth, it seems that there was really no escaping the wonderful world of Disney, even at a grocery store near my nana’s home.

Now if thaaaat doesn’t make you want to get your five-a-day, I don’t know what will!

Leave a Reply

