Tulpenmanie!

My fourth springtime in Washington state, and this year I finally saw the tulips.  I anticipated a day trip to the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival as anxiously I would a vacation – a much-needed vacation.  Happy as my disposition tends to be, I’ve found that working-life post-TAPIF leaves something to be desired.  I need to be outside!  Out of town!  Out of body (ooh, groovy…) – as much as I look forward to the warming weather, the sunnier the days become, the more my limbs twitch, my mind wanders, my eyes go in and out of focus (mouth agape, I’m sure).  And it is only going to get more difficult as summer approaches, unless

This jaunt north to the Skagit Valley couldn’t have come at a better time – the second Sunday of the month was sunny, bright, and dry; the bloom map I had been checking for weeks indicated signs of life.  And what life!  Long I have been enamored of the greens that are so characteristic of the Pacific Northwest, but to see the valley alive with color was a spectacular sight, proving that all this rain is good for something!

tulips01

tulips02

tulips03

tulips04

tulips05

tulips06

tulips07

tulips08

tulips09

tulips10

And here I thought I would take a little pause for all to recognize and appreciate my self-restraint in the number of photos I decided to post…only forty or so!

tulips11

tulips12

tulips13

tulips14

tulips15

tulips16

tulips17

tulips18

tulips19

tulips20

tulips21

tulips22

tulips23

tulips24

After a stroll around Roozengaarde’s largest field, we stopped across the road at the show garden, which put on display its rarest tulips.  Most surprising I found to be the names given to many of the tulips, which ranged from the fancy (“plaisir” or “baronesse”), to the suggestive (“sensual touch,” “blushing bride,” or “secret love”), to the not-really-so-vaguely-politically-incorrect (“white triumphator,” “white king,” or “white ideal” – any of the white ones, really).  Some, like the “Fabio” pictured below, must have been named purely for comedic value; case in point: the “Fokker Fan-Fan” tulip.

tulips33

tulips25

tulips26

tulips27

tulips28

tulips29

tulips30

tulips31

tulips32

What goes best with tulips?  Why, more tulips!  We tiptoed through another field, ablaze in reds and pinks and purples.  I slipped further into Tulipomania, remembering an interesting story that my father shared with me from Charles Mackay’s “Extraordinary Delusions and the Madness of Crowds” – it’s definitely worth a read, as it explains the life and times (and mania!) of the tulip in the Netherlands.  “Quis furor ô cives” it begins – “What madness, citizens!”  To spend one’s fortune on a tulip bulb seems extreme, pretty as they are, but to spend one’s afternoon surrounded by blooms makes for an entirely lovely Sunday.

tulips34

tulips35

tulips36

tulips37

tulips38

tulips39

tulips40

tulips41

tulips42

tulips43

tulips44

tulips45

tulips46

tulips47

Embrace the madness!  Come see the tulips before they are all gone for the season!

5 comments

  1. Wow how beautiful! Why does it not surprise me that you have been consulting a ‘bloom map’? Exploratrice extraordinaire xoxo

    1. Haha, dearest Rosie you know only little of my nerdy-travel-tips! They’ll come in handy the next time we’re ensemble en flânant n’importe où – un peu partout…soon I hope!

  2. Such stunning photos!! Really incredible series. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thank you so much! It was an incredible sight to see!

  3. […] see the tulips. I thought I would get a nice roadside picture of a tulip field…something like these beautiful pictures by my friend Sarah in Washington. Somehow instead I ended up spending four hours with thousands of […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 612 other followers

